Meet the Team

SWALSS’s work is led by its Executive Committee. All members of the Committee are serving special school headteachers and give generously of their time in a voluntary capacity. A Chief Executive and an Administration, Finance and Events Officer support the work of the Committee. Both of these posts are part time and remunerated.
The two SWALSS officers work part time for the organisation. The division of their duties for the current academic year is set out in SWALSS Roles and Responsibilities.
The four honorary officials give generously of their time to SWALSS in a voluntary capacity, as do all other members of the Executive Committee.
Below are a list showing who is who in SWALSS Executive Committee.

Michael Loveman

SWALSS Chair for 2020/22

Michael chairs meetings of the Executive Committee and has overall responsibility for the strategic direction and wellbeing of the organisation.
Michael is the headteacher of Cann Bridge School in Plymouth.

Jo Stoaling

SWALSS Vice Chair for 2020/22

Jo Stoaling is a Headteacher of Three Ways School in Bath

Deirdre Fitzpatrick

Educational Consultant 2020/22

Deirdre supports the Chair and, as the Constitution states, will become Chair at the end of Michael’s term of office.
Deirdre is currently Director of Education.

Helen Farnell

SWALSS Hon. Treasurer for 2020/22

Helen is currently Headteacher of the Elmwood and Penrose Federation in Bridgwater, Somerset.

Mags Clarke

SWALSS Hon. Secretary for 2020/22

Mags is currently Headteacher of Crowdys Hill School in Swindon, Wiltshire.

Andrew Penman

Chief Executive Officer of SWALSS

Andrews' responsibility for a range of tasks, including close collaboration with the SEND teaching school alliances in the South West.
Andrew is a former special school and mainstream headteacher.

Issy Johnson

Finance and Events Manager for SWALSS

Issy is currently the Finance and Events Manager for SWALSS.

Andy Lole

A Member of the Executive Committee

Andy Lole serves as The Mulberry Bush School's Executive Headteacher

Lyn Dance

A Member of the Executive Committee

Lyn Dance is a Headteacher at The Milestone School

Seán Kretz

A Member of the Executive Committee

Seán Kretz is a Headteacher of Westfield Arts College

Gill Barrett

A Member of the Executive Committee

Gill Barrett is a Principal of The Loddon School

Sara Attra

A Member of the Executive Committee

Sara Attra is currently Headteacher of Addington School

Sarah Pickering

A Member of the Executive Committee

Head of Mill Water school where I have worked for 11 years. I have 20 years teaching experience in a range of schools across the country, including residential ASC/SEMH/secure and behaviour unit. As an adoptee with adopted siblings, I have keen interest in attachment difficulties for children with disabilities and trauma informed practice. Mill Water is part of the teaching school alliance SWSSTA.

Andrew Buckton

A Member of the Executive Committee

Andrew is currently the CEO of The Enable Trust (a special school MAT in South
Gloucestershire) and an Ofsted Inspector. He has taught in both mainstream primary schools and in special education in both primary and secondary schools for pupils with complex learning difficulties, including children on the autism spectrum. As headteacher, he has taken his SLD/PMLD school to Outstanding. He has a Masters in the Psychology of Special Educational Needs and the Professional Qualification for Inspecting Schools. He is a research fellow of the Specialist Schools and Academies Trust and holds the SSAT Executive Headteachers Diploma

Kiran Hingorani

A Member of the Executive Committee

Jacqui Warne

A Member of the Executive Committee

© Copyright 2019 - SWALSS - All Rights Reserved
Designed by 
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram